Golden Son by Pierce Brown || Carolina


Golden Son (Red Rising Trilogy, #2)Golden Son by Pierce Brown

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

description

“Friendships take minutes to make, moments to break, years to repair.”

This bloodydamn book. We had a troubled start, I admit it. I started and then put it down again after 60 pages. I was going through a reading slump and I thought maybe this book would help. It didn’t but! it would have helped if only I pushed myself to read for a few more chapters! After that Ball/Dinner, shit went down and this book went into the pace of the first one. And just like that *snaps fingers* I was in love with this. Just like I was with the first book. However this one won’t go to my favorites. I blame it on my initial reading slump
I hate those little fuckers so much
.

“Home isn’t where you’re from, it’s where you find light when all grows dark.”

Like in the first book, Pierce keeps you on the edge of your seat through the whole book. You never who to trust and when someone will make their move and back stab his/her bestfriend. And that guys, is the best shit ever. There are plot twists every few chapters that you don’t see where it has come from. It will leave gaping at the book and thinking where the fuck did that come from? And then you will read some more, thinking now we will have some peace and then
*BAM!*
it its again. And you go back where you started.

Usually I prefer multiple POV books, but Darrow’s mind is just so interesting and intriguing. I love how he sees the world, the politics, the war, his friends. I specially adore the way he sees through people and know when he should trust them or not. Most of the time at least. I love his faith in the human nature.
One of my favorite things about these books is the relationships between Darrow and Sevro, Mustang, the Howlers, Victra, Tactus, Ragnar, Roque, the Jackal. How he deals with them, so differently but at the same time he follows the same ‘rules’. I hate how some people were so willing to distrust him just because. I despise the way some Golds see humans and how they treat low Colors like worms in the dirt. And some people really pissed me off! Because I was expecting something different from them. However, some others who found out the truth about Darrow and still stood by him and were loyal friends… well those along with Darrow are my favorites!

“I will die. You will die. We will all die and the universe will carry on without care. All that we have is that shout into the wind – how we live. How we go. And how we stand before we fall.”

Now I wanna talk about two plot twists in particular. First, Ares true identity I will say that some pages before I kind of thought maybe it’s him, but right after I was like Noooo, can’t be. And then… well he really was. So at the same time I was surprised and not really. If that even makes sense.
Second, that freaking end! Again I was expecting something to happen, the tension was being built since the beginning, but I never saw that coming! Those last 5 pages…just blow, after blow, after blow. When I finished the book I had to stand there with the book closed in my lap trying to digest everything that had just happened. I’m still not sure if I read that right.

I can’t even imagine how the last book will go. I just can’t picture it in my mind. How?!

“Friendships take minutes to make, moments to break, years to repair.”

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

