Doon by Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon || Carolina


Doon (Doon, #1)Doon by Carey Corp
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

As much as I adored this story I couldn’t bring myself to give this more than 4.5 stars. I’ll get to it later.

First off, this book was exactly what I needed right now. If you don’t know I’m a huge Outlander fan, and I had this disastrous brilliant idea if re-watching the first mid season before the new episode was out, and the only thing I got from it was a huge hangover. I was already in a reading slump and with this, I didn’t feel like doing anything with my life. Thankfully I saw Doon in my TBR and thought it would be worth a shot to give it a go. And guess what?! It worked! I read it under 24 hours, and totally loved it.

I loved the magic aspect, I adored the world, I fell in love with Jamie, Duncan and Fergus. My favorite is probably Duncan, his love story was my favorite. But I also really loved the other two. Then I also loved Fiona!

My main problem with this book was that the story felt rushed. What should have been at least a month was fitted into two short weeks. And that problem reflected mainly in Vee and Jamie’s love story. I know how the Calling works and all that, but Vee was too eager to say she was in love with Jamie. And Jamie had that bipolar complex when in one moment he was pushing her away and five minutes later he was professing his love. Apart from that, the only other problem I had was with the girls. I admired Kenna’s passion and her determination to follow her dreams. I could relate a lot with Vee in the way she believed in something supernatural in the blink of an eye, and how she felt like that was something she was meant to find and be part of. I’d probably be the same, but I don’t know if I could turn away from my life tho. But what really annoyed me was the fact that they were always thinking themselves ugly and their friend the most beautiful thing in all the universe. They didn’t do that as often as I thought they would after the beginning, but still it was a little maddening.

The storyline developed the way I expected, but I loved it all the same. I’m curious to know what happens in the second book, but at the same time I’m worried about what I’ll think of being so much time in Kenna’s mind. As much as I loved Duncan, between the two girls, I preferred Vee.

View all my reviews

2 responses to “Doon by Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon || Carolina

    • I think you should give it a try, but keep in mind that it’s a light read. Nothing too amazing. It felt t me like a CW show. Addicting, a lot of drama, I couldn’t put it down. But at the same time I knew it wasn’t amazingly written.

Leave a Reply

