Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson || Carolina


Since You've Been GoneSince You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I ended up enjoying this a lot more than I expected after reading the first 100pages. At first the girl was annoying me so much I couldn’t even think straight, the way she felt lost and miserable just because she didn’t have her friend by her side, it was so damn annoying I even considered stopping, and that’s something I never do.

description

But I’m glad I pushed myself through it, because once she made new friends only got better and better to the point I couldn’t put the book now, I just needed to know more about Emily, Frank, Sloane, Collins and Dawn and how everything would wrap up in the end.

It’s hard for me to pick up a favorite character because I loved every one in their unique way. So I’ll start with my favorite part and then come back to the characters and say what I loved about each one.

My favorite part was the skinny-dipping by a long shot. I adored how funny it was, I loved to see at that moment the way Emily evolved, I adored the friendship and trust between the four of them. When they got out of the water, I laughed so hard I had to put the book down to catch my breath and to think over the awesomeness of that moment.

I also really liked those last 3 chapter where everything wrapped up.

description

Now let’s get back to the characters. I ended up really liking Emily because after all that sulking she faced her life and tried to live her summer normally and having as much fun as she could.
I loved her relationship with Frank and the way things evolved slowly and naturally. And I really loved him, he felt real to me. He was perfect with all his flaws and fears. He was super cute and a very good person.

description

I loved Collins! Since the moment we met him, he was the guy who flirted with all the girls and was turned down over and over, still he was funny and easy going. And I specially liked the moment when he opened up to Em and explained why he behaved the way he did. I also loved Dawn, she was a very nice and an awesome friend to Em.

Now Sloane to be honest, from the chapters on the past, I wasn’t sold. I thought she was selfish and only was friends with Emily because she felt like it, not because she really cared for her. At least not the way Emily cared for her friend. But when we saw her again, I changed my mind. I ended up really liking her character as well!

This was a solid 4 stars. It started with 3 and ended up with a 5, so I didn’t even think twice about the rating. I definitely enjoyed this one more than the Epic Detour one. I plan on reading more by Morgan Matson, and I’m hoping someday I’ll give a book of hers 5 stars.

description

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

