World After by Susan Ee (Carolina)


World After (Penryn & the End of Days, #2)World After by Susan Ee

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

He is the one pocket of warmth in a sea of ice. Being in his arms feels like the home I never had.


4.5 stars

I really loved this book, but I think the first was my favorite. And you know why?! Because what we got of Raffe in this book, wasn’t nearly enough to make me happy.

So this book follows right where the first one left. Penryn is as far as everyone knows dead after being poisoned by the scorpion beasts. Raffe thought her dead as well, left her with her mom and flew away to seek revenge and his wings. Penryn wakes up and everyone thinks her a freak who was resurrected. Anyways she finds refuge with her mom and sister with the Resistance for a while. She has difficulties dealing with her family, and everyone else seem to have a problem with them as well. Shit got down they were separated.

I love Penryn! It’s so rare for me to say I like a girl. But this one?! Believe me when I say she’s badass. Read this quote and see for yourselves: “I leap up at the last second and stab my blade into his crotch with all the force of my springing legs. Don’t deny it, but when you read this, you winced. Even if you’re a girl. Because it’s impossible not too. Penryn is so loyal to her family, and is willing to do anything to protect them. But she’s also loyal to Raffe, and we all know that they are crazy in love, however she’s strong and doesn’t try to make him show his feelings because she know how much it means to him to be an angel. I really, really like this girl.
But as much as I love her, I love Raffe! And I almost forgot that. But then he came back and I fell in love with him all over again. He’s just so self-confident and sexy and badass. And I know he wants his wings back, but the ones he’s stuck with?! They just make him sexier than hell. And it’s a shame they only got together in the last 100 pages, because I craved for that part through the whole book and adored every single moment of it.

description

Another thing I really like about this books is Penryn’s family. Her mom is batshit crazy, but that only makes her so much more interesting to read about! And Paige is just the weirdest thing in all this. And I love her. She’s so adorable and cute, even with everything she went through she’s sweet and just wants to be loved by her family just like every seven-year old kid around the world.

And before we move on, I need to say I adored Pooky Bear. And I need an archangel sword of my own. Like yesterday! I love how the sword misses her true owner, how she decided to help Penryn be her new wielder and how she taught Penryn to use her. And most of all the resentment toward Penryn when she names the sword and choose a stuffed bear to be its hidden place. It was so funny! And some of my favorite parts were Raffe’s memories Penryn experienced. And like her I was eager to see how he reacted to their kiss.

description

My favorite part of the book was probably when finally Raffe and Penryn were together. When they fought protecting each other backs, when they flew together but most of all that night they spent alone. I ship those two so hard! I just want them to find a way to be together. I can’t see a way though. But a girl can hope.

“I hated loosing her.” His voice is a low growl. “I hadn’t realized just how attached I had gotten.” He reaches and moves a strand of wet hair out of my face. “How dangerously addictive she could be.

The only thing I hate about this is that I need to wait more than two months till End of Days is released. I want it now. I need to see everyone safe and sound. And Raffe and Penryn finally together.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

