The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater (Carolina)


The Raven Boys (Raven Cycle, #1)The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Such a nice surprise this book ended up being. I’ve been thinking about reading this book for so long, but the reviews I saw were always so different. Some people said this was an amazing and beautiful book, others said this was boring and really hard to get into. Thankfully I fell in the former group.

I went into this book expecting to be bored by it, and afraid it would put be in a reading slump, guess what?! That didn’t happen. I devoured it. Including the first 100 pages. I adored it from the first to last page. I found Blue and her family fascinating. Gansey and his group of raven boys captivating. And the whole world of Ley Lines and sleeping kings compelling. I’m so curious about the next book. I think the guy in the cover is Ronan. And so far he’s my favorite of the group. He’s a bad boy, he had a troubled past, he has his moments, and he made me fall in love with him.

Then we have the other boys, my eyes first fell on Adam but let me say this. I let me down. First he was adorable, how he looked at Blue and blushed and all that. But when it came to the way he saw Gansey and his relationship with money, oh well, it made me mad at him. A LOT
Speaking of Gansey, I loved him!!! He’s such a marvelous friend! Even when they don’t deserve it, he’s always there trying to get them up and give them a hand. And his relationship with Blue, is equally as interesting. I love how they communicate, and the way Blue sees him, the real him beneath all his formal talk and fake smiles. I’m really looking forward to see more of these two in the following books.
Finally, Noah. And surprise, surprise! I loved him as well. He was the shy, silent kid in the group. And slowly I fell in love with him as well. About that revelation about his past, I kinda guessed it. Even if I thought it was to weird to be really true.

The girl, Blue, is the one I’m not sure what to say. I liked her. She was adventurous and loyal and caring. I really liked to see her with the boys and how they built their relationship. Like I said I like the way she sees Gansey, I love the way she cares for Noah, and I love how Ronan grew on her throughout the book. I’m curious about her dad, and her powers.

The world Maggie created in these books, it’s phenomenal. And I can’t wait to see more of it. I hope I’ll be reading the next book very soon. I’m also dying to find out more about Ronan and Chainsaw. That last paragraph was really intriguing.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

