Red Rising by Pierce Brown (Carolina)


Red Rising (Red Rising Trilogy, #1)Red Rising by Pierce Brown

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


“I am the Reaper and death is my shadow.”

This damn book was everything I love about a book! It was fast paced, full of action, a little bit of romance, and survival. That’s one thing that makes the difference on books for me. I just love seeing my characters survive, when they need to find food, and shelter, and fire and drinkable water. It just becomes too addicting.

Then there was the world. I loved it!!! How everyone was divided in colors. How Goldens were molded by their school years. How their looks reflected the Color they were part of. I freaking adore when Darrow turned from Red to Gold. I thought the process was so fascinating. Not that I’d put myself through something like that willingly. But incredible nonetheless.

The school year they had to go through reminded me a bit of Hunger Games in its essence. But at the time they were nothing alike. The aim of the HG and the finality of these games were completely different. The process they go through once inside. And the end. In here all could live if they made it.

Speaking of making it through this book… I was so sad right at the beginning. I don’t know how the author managed to make me care so much for a characters that didn’t last the first few chapters. And then one of the characters that died in the end, broke my heart. Not saying he/she was a favorite, but I like him/her. And the most important, Darrow cared, and I care about Darrow, and when he’s sad, I’M SAD. That’s the thing that made me love this so much.

Darrow was a favorite of mine, he was so brave and clever. Not to say sexy doing every single thing he did. I love the way he outsmarted everyone. And his loyalty to his group, and his friends to him. I love these relationships where they have to earn each other trust through fire and blood. And makes the bond stronger and truer.
I also really liked Mustang. I never really knew if I could trust her or not, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t like her. I wasn’t that surprised about her big revelation but that didn’t diminish the awesomeness of this book.
Then I also loved Sevro, and let me say this, he reminded me so much of Nico diAngelo!!! That probably helped. And the way he was the cast off, and the smallest and no one liked him. But mainly his loyalty again to Darrow.
Then we have Pax and Tactus, whom I also liked a lot.

Now I’m super curious how Darrow will survive through the situation he’s now. How he and Cassius will revolve things. And how he and Mustang will be together or not.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

