Poison Princess by Kresley Cole (Carolina)


Poison Princess (The Arcana Chronicles, #1)Poison Princess by Kresley Cole

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This goes straight for my favorites shelf. I adored this book with all my heart. Believe me. I have no idea why I haven’t picked this up sooner. I feel like I’ve been saying this about all the books I read this year.

Now let’s get one thing out of the way right away. My only problem with this book was Evie. Most times she annoyed the hell out of me. She made me want to struggle her, or punch her. Or some crazier stuff. But that wasn’t enough to make me love this book any less. And I feel this character will be one of those to suffer great chances throughout the books. In a good way. I think life will though her up and make her badass and independent.

But my favorite thing was Jackson. Don’t get me wrong I loved the story, but I’ll get there soon. Now I need to rave about my love for this Cajun boy. From the moment he showed up all smug and careless, in a motorcycle and with a freaking accent I was doomed. You can’t have any idea how hard I fell for this poor boy, with a troubled past and family. Who felt attracted to some rich girl and because of that he had his life turned upside down. He lost everything he cared, but even though, he never gave up on taking care of her. Even when he thought she was a spoiled brat, who thought him trash. Who never gave up figuring her out. He was always there ready to fucking kill for her. And all that and then some, made me add this boy to my top book boyfriends of all time. With only one book. I’m curious to learn more about him. And I need to see him smiling again. So please, Evie make him happy.

As promised I’ll tell you about the world building. I found it mesmerizing! I loved the super powers and where they came from. I loved how the author described the apocalypse and the disease and the surviving through all that. I ached for Jack when he described the bayou and how he and Evie were the only people alive who could remember it as it was before, that realization moment truly broke my heart. It also makes me very sad thinking about all the fauna and flora that was lost. I’m a animal lover.

I must say I enjoyed the part pos-apocalypse more than the first part, but only slightly. I really liked seeing Evie dealing with her mental problems while having a normal life. I liked her friendship with Melissa a lot. I also liked how she was the popular girl but was never a bitch to the rest of the school. Even though her school was a little elite, and everyone was rich. But I appreciated the effort nonetheless. I wasn’t a big fan of Brandon and didn’t care that he was taken off the picture.

Those weird chapter from Arthur‘s POV, were truly disconcerting. He was a psychopath without a doubt, and he added a note of creepy to the book that only made it all the more interesting and gripping.

I have no idea what to think about the new Arcana characters. I don’t trust them at all. I wouldn’t trust them to watch my back, not for a second. I wouldn’t fall asleep for a nanosecond if I didn’t have Jack around. I want to trust Matthew, but I just can’t. I’ll try harder the following books. And I don’t like Selena, period.

Another thing I loved was all the sexual frustration around these YA characters. The way Jack was so blunt about what he wanted was hilarious, and whenever Evie and Jack were messing around, even if only talking to each other, it was like the room got 20 degrees hotter. Jack had that affect on me, and the way this author writes doesn’t help. I love it.

Another thing I adored was that last chapter, were we got to see that character development I talked about before starting to happen. I loved seeing Evie using her powers and I hope some things she thought were wrong. I can’t and I won’t believe it. I need to keep reading this books. Like right now. Because who needs to sleep, right?! Not us booklovers for sure.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

