Unearthly & Hallowed by Cynthia Hand (Carolina)


Unearthly (Unearthly, #1)Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Why didn’t I pick up this book sooner? That’s what I keep asking myself right now. This was one of the first books I added on my GR to-read shelf. And do you know how long that was? More than 2 years ago!!! Why, Carolina, why.

Now let’s talk about the book itself and its awesomeness. I adored the perspective Cynthia Hand gave to Angels stories. It was refreshing, and original. I also loved that the girl was supposed to save the boy and not the other way around. I enjoyed seeing her in school adapting and trying to adjust to being ordinary when she used to be popular in her other school.

I completely loved the love story. It never went the way you expected and I fell in love with one of them so hard, that when his safety was at stake I nearly bawled my eyes out. I also really liked the other one, but the fact that she chose my boy, made this an extraordinary book with and exquisite love story. At least in my experience as a reader.

I also liked one of her friends, but I can’t trust the other at all.
Her brother is a complicated case. There’s so much more about him than what he’s letting on. I think he’s keeping something major from his family. And I’m worried about his wings.

I can’t wait to keep reading these books, I want to know who Clara ends up with. And how her failure will affect her life as an Angel-Blood. And I need to know more about her friend and brother. And obviously about Christian.

Hallowed (Unearthly, #2)Hallowed by Cynthia Hand

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I really loved the second book to the Unearthly trilogy, but I’d say I preferred the first and maybe that’s mainly because the love triangle was a lot more present in this book than in the first. And I also guessed a lot of the plot twists. But I don’t think that takes any of the charm of the book for me. It only makes me proud that I’m starting to see signs to where the book is going, when a few years ago I’d be as clueless as a baby.

Anyway about the love triangle. I’m a Tucker girl all the way, so I don’t like where this’ going. I want them together and problem free. Please. I also really like Chris, but I could live with him being happy with someone else. For sure. So Chris, get the f*ck away from Clara, and let her have her HEA with Tucker.

Her brother, Jeffrey, is a little mystery for me. I like him, but he can make me mad at him every time he appears. I wasn’t surprised at all about his little secret. I hope he finds his redemption and ends up alive in the end of the third book.

Now about Clara’s mom purpose, that wasn’t a surprise either. The big surprise here was her dad’s identity, I guess somewhere deep down I suspected it, but at the same time I didn’t think it was possible. I’m glad it was. Because it’s so awesome! I love her dad btw. And I really hope he shows up in the last book. A lot.

I still can’t trust Angela. I swear I tried, but that mysterious boyfriend of hers, smells like bad news. Big, fat, bad news. I’m curious to read about their adventures in Italy. But at the same time I’m sad because that means there won’t be much Tucker in the last book.

I’m super excited to read the last book in this trilogy, I’m enjoying it a lot more than I expected and I need to know how this will wrap.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

