Wicked by Jennifer L Armentrout (Carolina)


Wicked (A Wicked Saga, #1)Wicked by Jennifer L. Armentrout

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

As expected I freaking adored this book! And I have a feeling Torn will be painful as hell. Just sayin’.

I will start with everything I loved about this book then I will tell you what made me give this book 4stars instead of 5.

So…let’s begin with the obvious! The boy, Ren! He was as I expected hot as the lower level of hell in Summer. I swear that if JLA keeps making up guys like this I will be giving up on real world and live only with her books. Ren was sexy, nice, sweet, loving, caring, protective… I could keep this going as long as you wanted and I’d still have more positive words to describe him. Physically he was just my time of guy, dark hair and light eyes. And right from the beginning when Ivy described him I knew I was lost. I made up some theories about him, in the end I found out I was wrong. Not sure if I was happy or disappointed. Anyhow that didn’t make me love this book any less. Ren is approved.

Ivy surprised me. I actually liked her. She was strong and badass. She knew how to defend herself and never let anyone say otherwise. I love her hair, dunno why I decided to write that right here but let’s keep it. I wish there was more action, but the few moments when we saw her fight I loved them. About the theories I formed about Ivy, about those I was right.

I truly adored the relationship between Ivy and Ren. It felt so natural most of the time. How they earned each other trust. How they didn’t almost stab each other in the eye when they found some necessary lie as usually happens. How Ren respected Ivy’s ability to defend herself and completely trusted her. And that is something unusual. Usually guys always think the girl is weaker and needs protection. Ren always tried to respect her and give her the right to choose what she wanted to do at her own risk.

Another think I freaking loved were the geek mentions. Oh good Lord! Harry Potter, American Horror Story, Lord of the Rings, Walking Dead, Disney, Theo James and Supernatural. I swear I loved it. I’m such a Disney Girl and whenever Ren called Ivy, Merida I’d fangirl so much inside!!! And there are some names I think could be references but I can’t be sure about, so go and tell me what you think 🙂

There are more two characters worth talking about. Tink and Val. I really liked both of them. And I wish I could have a brownie of my own. I also had a lot of theories about them. Some were wrong thank the Gods some were right and made me very sad.

Last thing before I move to the bad part. I loved the setting and the supernatural part of the story. First New Orleans is the city I’m the most curious about visiting in the USA. I swear that will be my first stop when I get to the States. Then I love Fae, unfortunately not all stories about these creatures are very successful. But this one?! So far?! Phenomenal. I hope we get to know more about them, and somewhere in the way we get to see the Underworld at least for a little while.

Now what made me give one less star to this book in spite of everything good I just said.

Let’s start by saying that I’m starting to see aspects in common between the main characters and some of their back stories. It’s not exactly a bad thing but it isn’t good either, right?!

Then there’s the fact that this book is NA. That’s not bad either. I really liked the balance JLA accomplished in this book. But I’m not a NA person all of the time. So, I liked it, but sometimes as usual I thought it was too much. But don’t make this stop you, because believe me when I say that this is my problem. My weird, weird problem.

Finally there’s the part about my theories and that most of them were right. After Stone Cold Touch‘s end I kinda expected what happened in the end of this one. And with other stuff more important than that. But I won’t spoil it anymore. Just read it and find out for yourself.


It’s definitely worth it!

Don’t forget to enter our giveaway!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

