The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey (Carolina)


The 5th Wave (The Fifth Wave, #1)The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

3.5 stars
I have such mixed up feelings about this book.
I wasn’t even going to give it 4 stars till I reached like the last hundred pages.

I felt so disappointed by it. I was expecting some awesome alien invasion with a cute romance in the middle. I did get the fascinating invasion. But the romance? I wanted more. I felt like Evan and Cassie weren’t even the main characters. Sam and Ben were also main

First I preferred the girl over the boy. And where the hell do you get that? It doesn’t make sense! I thought Evan was little of a cry baby. And that’s something I don’t appreciate on a boy. I admire when a guy cries, when he has the right reasons to. But all the time? Over the same thing over and over?! Not really my cup of tea.

Zombie, though was a very interesting character. I loved seeing him transform from the jock boy to a kick ass soldier! Not that I want him with Cassie. Because I’m not sure about that yet. I need to see more of those three interacting. And I suspect that Ringer has something to do with Evan. Btw, I like her. She’s bad ass and hell smart!

Cassie impressed me so much! She was so brave and trust worthy. I loved that she never gave up on her little brother. And even more important, she never let herself trust Evan completely! Even when her heart told her to, she always heard her instincts saying he wasn’t to be trusted.

I also loved Sams! He was so adorable. And it was heartbreaking to see him go through all that army thing. And see all that death. No kid should be put through that.

Anyway I’m really curious to read the next book. I want to know if there’s gonna be a sixth wave. Where everyone is. How they plan to survive. How human race will deal with the aliens.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

