Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo (Carolina)


Ruin and Rising (The Grisha, #3)Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Epic! That’s the first word that comes to my mind when I try to describe this book. It brought me to tears, it made me laugh, it made me reconsider my opinion on a lot of characters. And most of all it made me think. And I freaking loved that.

There might be spoilers bellow, not explicit. But spoilers non the less.

If you read the previous books and still have this one left, you might have noticed that there’s something more to Mal. And that made me theorize so much, you have no idea. I was always coming up with new theories but dismissed them quickly afterwards. But when I finally settled for one that I was confident was plausible I was super nervous to see if I was right. And guess what, I really was! I felt so proud, I guessed everything. Both what was special about him, and why he was special.
Speaking of Mal, this book made me change my opinion on him. I liked him okay in the previous books, but in this one?! I fell for him. He was super cute, protective and brave. Too brave, but still…

In the end Mal was the reason was the reason why I needed a break between Book 2 and Book 3. Like I said before, I liked him but I didn’t love him like I loved Nikolai or the Darkling. And I spoiled myself about part of Alina’s faith in the end of this book, and I wasn’t ready to face it. So I decided to give myself some time to distance myself from the story, or at least to try to, so I could read this book more calmly and end it with at least a piece of my heart whole. It worked, more or less. In the beginning I was feeling triumphant, Mal and Alina together were growing on me, and the Darkling was destroying everything and everyone. But then, damn Alina visited the Darkling and the walls I had built to protect my heart from that charming son of a bitch, started to grumble and fall all around me, and I was again hoping for the Darkling’s redemption.

I was so mad at myself for being so weak. I was mad at the Darkling for making me love him, even when he was so mean to everyone. I was mad at Mal, for not making me love him as much as I loved the Darkling. I was mad at Nikolai and Alina for not being able to just love each other and making me ship them. As you can see, I was mad at everyone.

And let’s not forget that this damn book almost scared me to death (view spoiler)

Even though all of this, I was pretty happy with the way everything wrapped up, and how everyone ended up. I didn’t exactly like some parts, but I think they were necessary for making the closure as perfect as it was. Now I’m super curious about the spin off. And see how everyone is doing. And how the country is adapting after everything.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

