The Giver by Lois Lowry (Carolina)


The Giver (The Giver Quartet, #1)The Giver by Lois Lowry

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I loved this book so much more than I expected! I found everything about it fascinating. The way their community worked, and how everyone saw it and accepted it like it was the ultimate goodness, and there was no way around it. Fascinating.

I had a problem with the book though. It was too short, too simple in some aspects. Like what was happening everywhere else? What happened after the end to Jonas’s friends? How some aspects of their society worked? The book was too small to develop all these details, and that’s what let me down.

Overall, I loved it. Jonas was a super intriguing character, and I loved seeing the world as he saw, and how he learned about so many things we take for granted but that he never had contact with. I’m pretty sure one of my favourite moments was when we learned about red. The way he reacted, the way he saw it, was just too perfect, too touching.

After reading the book I watched the trailer again, and what the hell?! It’s so different, it’s hard to pinpoint the similarities. I suppose they changed it because the book was too short and simple, to became a good movie. I just hope they don’t change too much, and that they keep the main message the book transmits in the adaptation. I’m really curious!

About the companion books, I’m not sure if I’ll be reading them anytime soon. Or at all. The ratings are worse than the first, and they aren’t about Jonas. So I don’t know if I should read them or not.

Trailer

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

