White Hot Kiss by Jennifer L Armentrout (Carolina)


White Hot Kiss (The Dark Elements, #1)White Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

White Hot Kiss didn’t disappoint me in any way! JLA did it again and made me fall in love with her characters and the beautiful world she created. And thanks God for that, because this book was everything I wanted.

The world with the Gargoyles and Demons was just amazing! At first it reminded me of Shadowhunters mixed with the Brothers from Black Dagger Brotherhood series. But it wasn’t a bad thing, because those are two of my favourite series of all time! After that there were moments that it would remind of another different book. But soon I’d forget it, so I have no idea which were the others it remind me off. It didn’t take any magic from this world, though. was really interested in finding out more about both races, their history and culture. Mainly the parts where both histories intersect. I wanna know more in the next books. I can’t freaking wait to put my hands on Stone Cold Touch! This book ended in a hell of a cliffhanger, I need to know what happens next. I need certain people back, cuz I don’t like other certain person! Anyways, moving on.

The characters were also without surprise freaking awesome! Within a couple of chapters after I got to know Roth I was so deeply in love with him, you have no idea! And in YA fantasy series this doesn’t happen frequently, it’s like in the first book I like the characters but only with the progression of the story I let myself fall in love with them this much. With Roth it was impossible to resist! He reminded me of Aaron Warner and Kaidan Rowe and Jennifer’s unique touch in her male characters. And all that mixed up together ended up in utter perfetion. I need the next book.

I also liked Layla not as much as I like Katy, but she was okay. Sometimes I was so mad at her for not trusting in herself, or accepting everything she was. Seriously girl, get hold of yourself. But when she was with Roth she was okay. And even badass, at times!

Then the worth of the triangle. Zayne. I love his name but I just can’t like him. Damn, I tried! But it was impossible. I’m not gonna say I hate him, because that’s not true. I think he’s okay. I just can’t like him with Layla. Not in a million years. He needs to get himself a nice pretty girl, and let Layla be with my baby.

About the plot twists, I wasn’t exactly surprised by any of them. I was expecting Layla’s parentage, and in the end after the prophecy or whatever that kid gave Layla and Roth, I was expecting to that character to disappear. That didn’t make it any easier though. I couldn’t stop the tears when it happened and I just wanted to scream at the injustice of it all. I really need Stone Could Touch right now!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

