On The Fence by Kasie West (Carolina)


On the FenceOn the Fence by Kasie West
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I have no words. I loved every single thing about this book. The characters were all amazing and the story line sucked me in from the very star! Usually I have a hard time with YA Contemporary. I hardly love one, unfortunately. But this one, holy crap! It didn’t let me down at all. It’s not like I went into this with very high expectations, because I already know myself and I’m usually disappointed with this genre but this book surprised in all the ways that matter. I won’t say it didn’t have its flaws, it did. But they didn’t matter enough for me to give this book less than the 5 stars it deserves.

To start with, I related a lot with Charlie. I’m not saying I’m a tomboy, because I’m not that much into playing sports as she is. But I usually relate a lot more to boys than girls. I find it difficult for me to understand the usual girl, all the worrying about make up, clothes and shoes. I just think its boring as hell. I’d trade an afternoon shopping with girls, for sitting in a couch with a bunch of guys watching soccer everytime. And that’s where I related the most with Charlie! She just feels home playing with her big brothers, and watching/playing sports. And with girls she doesn’t know how to react and talk about things most girls do. And didn’t even mention make up! I’m even more at lost when it comes to that than Charlie! So even if Charlie pissed me off sometimes, I liked her a lot because of how much I related to her.

Apart from Charlie, I loved the boys! Every single one of them. Her brothers, Braden, her dad, her teammates! Starting with Braden. I loved him, he was so, so cute! I wish I had a neighbor like that. He was sexy, he was sweet, he was an amazing friend. I can’t think of anything else to make him even more perfect.
Her brothers were also the best! I loved her relationship with every single one of them, specially Gage, and I’d give anything to read more moments between those two. I’d also love to have 3 older brothers, instead I’m stuck with 3 younger ones. Life’s unfair. Unnecessary it would be to say that they don’t have hot friends to bring home. Shame.
I also really liked her dad. He loved her so much, and only wanted the best for her, but he felt so lost raising a girl in a home full of boys. I think he did a great job.

I also liked the other girls, Amber, Skye and Linda. I loved seeing Charlie making her first friendship with girls that weren’t into sports, and how good that experience turned out to be, instead of a complete failure like she thought.

As you may see, I loved this book a lot! And now I’m willing to read more contemporaries. Maybe I won’t be disappointed by all of them. I wish I could see from the synopsis which Contemporary reads are my cup of tea. But for now I still can’t say what makes me love some of them, and only be okay with the most part. I hope I find out soon enough though

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

