Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo (Carolina)


Siege and Storm (The Grisha, #2)Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I loved this book, but loved a lot more the first one. And I think I have a quite simple reason to justify it. No Darkling in this book! So this book is a 4.5 star for me.

Besides the no Darkling problem, I really don’t have anything bad to say about this book. The world is still fantastic. The characters are flawless! And the action and intrigue around the book is awesome. We never know who to trust. Who’s a spy and who is a friend. Who wants Alina to live and who wants to kill her. And that’s something that just keeps you reading this books through the night.

Now the more specific part of the review. I’ll start talking about the part where the Darkling did show up after the beginning. It made me want to hate him. And kill him. And torture him. But even though I can’t hate him. I saw what he did, and I was so mad but I was still hoping that he and Alina could be together, and that he could turn good. But I’m still MAD!

Speaking of mad. I was also so mad at Alina! GOD. She was so stupid throughtout the book. She didn’t trust anyone, not eve Mal. And ran away. And was so mean to Nikolai. And God give me patince. I hope she gets better in the last book. Because in this book, I couldn’t deal with her.

My favourite character in this book was defenitely Nikolai! He was so freaking awesome I just wanted more of him. He’s so sexy and sarcastic and awesome. Damn it. Oh and he’s a freaking genious. I knew from the start who he really was and I want him to be King. Because I know he will be one of the great ones. He cares so much about his people. And I really can picture him ruling. Now who will be his Queen?! That’s the question. I think he showed interest in someone, but I can’t really remember who was the lucky one.

There are still a couple of characters I need to talk about. Mal is one of them. I still like him, and I can see that he really cares about Alina, but I still would rather see her with the Darkling. Then we met the Twins in this book. And I trusted them since the beginning. I don’t know why, they were always trustworthy in my eyes. I still didn’t see that plot twist coming in the end. Finally David, I really liked him in this book and I want him and Genya to end up together.

Finally I really liked this book. I speacially liked when Nikolai was with Alina. Because Alina by herself was a little depressing and boring. The Stormhound identity was pretty obvious for me since the beginning, so I wasn’t really surprised. But the end of the book I wasn’t seeing it coming. I expected Alina to confront the Darkling. But the rest of it was just a bunch of surprises. Some good, and others not that good. I’m really curious about the last book, even though I spoiled myself. I know who Alina will end up with and a major death. I’m not happy about it.

View all my reviews

One response to “Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo (Carolina)

Leave a Reply

