Interview with Elizabeth Briggs + GIVEAWAY (Margarida)


MoreThanMusiceBook

Book Description

Music major Maddie Taylor just finished her junior year of college and has a summer internship lined up with the LA Philharmonic, yet every night she practices guitar and secretly dreams of a louder life. But geeky girls like her don’t get to be rock stars. That is, until tattooed singer Jared Cross catches her playing guitar and invites her to join his band on The Sound, a reality TV show competition.

Once on the show, Maddie discovers there’s more to Jared than his flirty smile and bad boy reputation – and that he’s just as big a geek as she is. With each performance their attraction becomes impossible to ignore, but when the show pressures them to stay single they’re forced to keep their relationship secret.

As the competition heats up, Jared will do whatever it takes for his band to win, and Maddie must decide if following her dream is worth losing her heart.

THE INTERVIEW

Margarida- I fell in love with Jared Cross, he’s so nerdy and a bad boy at the same time I just love him! So I wanted to know what inspired to create this character?

Elizabeth- Jared is loosely based on Jared Leto from Thirty Seconds To Mars. I originally used the name Jared as a placeholder, but it stuck and my friends wouldn’t let me change it. Like Jared Leto, Jared Cross is charming, something of a player, but also pretty silly and more down-to-earth than people might expect from a rock star. Plus, they both have brothers in the band that they’re really close to. Jared Cross is also inspired by Adam Levine of Maroon Five, who I went to high school with briefly, back when his band was called Kara’s Flowers. There’s also a little of my husband in Jared, too, because every love interest I write is partly inspired by him. For example, my husband also wears a lot of geeky shirts.

jared-leto-vogue-uk-1

*sigh*

Margarida- I told you I love Jared Cross and I totally have a crush on him so what is your ultimate book crush and why?

Elizabeth- My ultimate book crush is Colin from the historical romance A Week To Be Wicked by Tessa Dare. He’s a hilarious rogue and is really smart, too. Plus he falls for a nerdy girl with glasses!

Margarida- The day after I finished the book I found out about the other books you’re going to write, the prequel about Kyle and a sequel about Hector what can you tell us about those books and other future books(like Carla my fellow Portuguese :P)?

Elizabeth- Kyle’s novella More Than Exes will be set at the UCLA vs USC Battle of the Bands, and will show how he reunites with his high school sweetheart Alexis. Hector’s novella More Than Comics will be set at San Diego Comic-Con where he’ll finally meet the writer of his graphic novel in person. After that, Maddie’s roommates Carla and Julie will get their own books. All I can say about those is that they will feature different reality TV shows!

*can’t wait to read these books!*

Margarida- A thing I absolutely loved about this book was the reference to Comic con and all those t-shirts Jared wore they were pretty cool  I want them! It made me feel really connected with the characters. Did you have to do a lot of research or are a nerd like me and know all those stuff by heart? If you love comics what’s your favorite villain and hero?

Elizabeth- I’m already a huge comics fan and a big geek so I didn’t have to do much research on those things. Plus I’ve been to Comic-Con six times already (and this year will be number seven!). I did search for different villain shirts for Jared to wear though, which was fun. Like Jared, I LOVE villains, especially Harley Quinn and Joker, Magneto and Mystique, and Loki. My favorite heroes are probably Batman, Black Widow, and Rogue and Gambit from X-men.

*me gusta Loki*

Margarida- Now about reading. Are a bookworm? What’s your favorite book? What’s your favorite author? Where’s your favorite place to read and write? (wow those were a lot of questions)

Elizabeth- I’m a total bookworm! I have lots of favorite books and authors so it’s hard to narrow it down to just one, but my all-time favorite series is the His Dark Materials trilogy by Philip Pullman. I’ve read those books a dozen times. My favorite place to write and read is in bed, usually with one of my dogs next to me!

Margarida- There as been a lot talk about this new genre New Adult and how it’s just Young Adult but with sex and I disagree with that I love New Adult because it tells you how it is and it talks about more mature things. What made you write in this genre?

Elizabeth- I used to write Young Adult, but it felt natural to switch to New Adult for this book. My favorite part about writing New Adult is that the characters are in a time of transition and change, and are starting to figure out who they want to be for the rest of their lives – in their careers, in relationships, and as people. They might be living on their own for the first time or have more experience than they did in high school, but that freedom and maturity also comes with new challenges and responsibilities. This combination of independence and uncertainty is what I loved most about writing it!
I loved doing this interview it was super fun! Elizabeth was really nice and answered all the questions I had 🙂

About the Author

LizAuthor

Elizabeth Briggs is a full-time geek who writes books for teens and adults. She plays the guitar, mentors at-risk teens, and volunteers with a dog rescue group. She lives in Los Angeles with her husband and a pack of small, fluffy dogs.

Elizabeth’s Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

AND NOW……

…..

A GIVEAWAY

I talked with the author about doing a mini-giveaway and she agreed. So here it is! Elizabeth is sending me some SWAG so I can do the giveaway. It’s international because I know the feeling when someone sees (US only) . There will be 5 winners and I think that’s it! GOOD LUCK!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

14 responses to “Interview with Elizabeth Briggs + GIVEAWAY (Margarida)

  1. Pingback: Wallbanger by Alice Clayton (Margarida) | The Fault In Our Words·

  2. Pingback: Shadown and Bone by Leigh Bardugo (Carolina) | The Fault In Our Words·

  3. Pingback: Wonderful books that you don’t know about (Margarida) | The Fault In Our Words·

  4. Pingback: Breathe with Me by Kristen Proby (Margarida) | The Fault In Our Words·

  5. Pingback: Play Me by Blue Ashcroft (Margarida) | The Fault In Our Words·

  6. Pingback: Iris by R.K. Lilley (Margarida) | The Fault In Our Words·

  7. Pingback: June Wrap Up & July TBR (Margarida) | The Fault In Our Words·

  8. Pingback: June Haul!! (Margarida) | The Fault In Our Words·

  9. Pingback: More Than Music Book SWAG (BookMarks) Giveaway at The Fault In Our Words – Ends 07/26/2014 | Contest Corner: The Best Giveaways on The Net! | Oregon Coast Blogger·

  10. Pingback: Ruthless People by J.J. McAvoy (Margarida) | The Fault In Our Words·

    • It’s totally awesome!! 😀 Unfortunately I do not speak Spanish I do understand it because it’s kinda similar to Portuguese but me speaking Spanish it’s not pretty eheh 😛 Thanks and good luck! 🙂

      • hahahah i thought you knew it because “me gusta Loki” 😛 by the other hand, I speak spanish because i’m from Colombia, and i think the same about portuguese :P, i would like to learn how to speak it. 🙂

      • Ahahah sometimes I like to say it 😀 you should try it! A lot of people say it’s a hard language to learn but since you speak Spanish it probably won’t be that hard 🙂

Leave a Reply

