The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken (Carolina)


The Darkest Minds (The Darkest Minds, #1)The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

“The Darkest Minds tend to hide behind the most unlikely faces.”

description

I went into this book expecting to love it, and to hell if I didn’t! The characters were so real, and the world so awesome. Dunno why, before I started the book, I was sure this was an high-fantasy book. Maybe because of the cover, I don’t have another explanation, but in my head this cover doesn’t remind me of dystopia. So, when I read the synopsis of the book before I started, I was surprised right away.

The world Bracken created reminded me a lot of the Tomorrow People in some ways. The super powers, evolution, the kids being outcasts. In that aspect I was always thinking of the tv show. But in a good way. Anyways, I loved the idea of the superpowers, and there were different ones, some more powerful and dangerous and interesting. If I were Psi, I’d want to be a Blue or a Red. Orange seems too horribly dangerous for me. And I’m really curious to get to know a decent Orange and a Red. Any Red.

Now the characters. I’m gonna start with Chubbs. I spent half the time mad at him. He was so annoying and smart ass. I know Liam explained why he was like that, but doesn’t mean I was less mad about it. And in the end (view spoiler). Suzume let’s just say I love that girl and I want the crew together again. Clancy I didn’t trust him since the beginning and was glad to find out (view spoiler). It was because people like him, that Ruby was so afraid to be what she was.

description

Finally its the main characters’ turn, and I have no idea which one to start with. Liam or Ruby. I think maybe Ruby, so first I love her name. Then in the beginning I wasn’t sure about her, but she grew on me and I was really liking her, till the last chapter. I don’t think I can say a lot more about her, or I will start punching something, and the nearest thing is my cat and I don’t think I will forgive myself after that. Let’s just say F*CK YOU RUBY.

Now that I have that out of system I will talk a little about Liam. Liam is one of the sweetest male protagonists I ever read about. He’s just so, so good. A little like Peeta, now that I think about it. And I loved him since the beginning. How he treated his friends and cared about everything. And the way he dealt with Ruby even after finding out her secret. Oh my! Liam is just sweet. And his moments with Ruby were also so cute, how he calls her darlin’ and touches her whenever he has the opportunity. I need more Rubiam moments!!

But I not going to read Never Fade right away because then it’s over and I’ll have to wait till In the Afterlight comes out. I’m not sure when it will be released but I’m pretty sure it’s not tomorrow, so…I’ll wait a little more. I’m really curious about the second book, though. I wanna see what happens and everyone together again.


“Let’s carpe the hell out of this diem.”

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

