Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor (Carolina)


Dreams of Gods & Monsters (Daughter of Smoke & Bone, #3)Dreams of Gods & Monsters by Laini Taylor

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Finally I managed to give a book of this trilogy 5 stars, and very well earned let me tell you! This was beyond good. I almost added it to my favourite shelf, it was a really close call, but after the end and thinking better of it, I thought it didn’t make much sense in my head. But still,
I loved this book
! There’s so much to tell about it, that I have no idea where to start, but I’m gonna try.


Big spoilers hidden, minor spoilers not so much.

I think the best think to approach first is the main couple! Again, finally, I managed to really like it. In the first two books I liked it, but it wasn’t a highlight for me in the book, but in this one?! It just got so, so much better! I finally fell in love with Akiva. And Karou earned my admiration and respect. I really liked their sense of responsibility and how they prioritized some stuff over their personal drama. Good job, the two of you!

But they weren’t my favourite couple. I’ll get to that later. First I’m going to talk about my favourite characters.
In the first place, Suzanna and Ziri and for the Liraz and Mik! Oh my God, I love Suz so, so much. She’s so fierce even though she’s the smallest thing, so brave and strong willed. And at the same time so funny and adorable. When I grow up, I wanna be like her. And her relationship with Mik?! I don’t have words to describe it. Just too good to be true! I also want a boy like Mik when I grow up, violin included. if I may ask.
Then, my poor lovely boy, Ziri. What he went through all these books… It just wasn’t fair for him or anyone. He’s so kind hearted and had such a beautiful soul, I wanted to grab him, and hold him and just have a Ziri of my own. I have to admit that if someone made me choose between Ziri and Akiva, I’d go 100% for Ziri. No second thoughts. of course if Hazael were an option, he would be the one, but well, that thought just brought raw pain. Dunno why bother

My main moment of anger and sadness, and my favourite couple – (view spoiler)

Now the favourite couple, by now you can already guess it! Ziri and Liraz! It was a damn shame it wasn’t more explored but the little glimpses we had, left me crazy with happiness. I loved those two together so, so much! I shipped them since the first time I saw them interact. And I’m pretty sure that was on book two. So when I saw that it did happen in this book, my heart burst with love and happiness. (hide spoiler)]

Keep going. I really liked knowing more about Stellians and Akiva’s past. I also loved meeting Eliza. I wasn’t surprised about her lineage, but I was super shocked about her role in the end. And what happened to her after that graviel. Speaking of it, if I’m correct, there were two more. I was curious about the use Mik and Suze would give it. I was hoping they would wish to become Chimera. That didn’t happen unfortunately. I also loved the myths, and the truth about the Angels past. And the role Razgut had in all of it.

The end was what left me a little disappointed. First it confused me with all the godstars talk. And then because I didn’t quite understand what they would do about the beasts. And I wanted to know. I also wanted Karou to craft her own Kirin body again. That didn’t happen either. Another thing I wanted to happen was Issa with the Angel General. There were hints, and I was expecting it, and then no reference to those two being together and I wanted it. And yet another thing, Karou was always thinking about revisiting her old home in the Kirin caves. I was looking forward to it, seeing Akiva and Karou on her birthplace. And again it wasn’t there.

I don’t think these small things made the book any less good. But I also think that Laini kept adding little stuff and details where she could grab later, and some of them she forgot to tie. And left us hanging. Wondering what happened. Even though all that,
well done! Amazing end to this trilogy.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

