Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor (Carolina)


This book was so, so good, but there were a couple of things that let me down. I didn’t start this book with any specifics expectations because I had no idea what it was about. I knew it had angels and the main character had blue hair, apart from that I was clueless. But when I started the book and it was so good I got started with creating expectations to what would happen next in the book, and I was hoping that it would be as good as the begin promised.

In some ways it was. The plot twists were incredible. I can’t say that I didn’t suspect who Karou really was from the beginning but the rest was just awesome. The characters! Oh goodness the characters were the best. I really liked the main characters. I loved all Karou friends. I even liked Brimstone. And finally the world building. The setting of this book was one of my favourites. I loved how Eretz was described. I loved that the Karou lived in Prague. Laini’s writing is so beautiful. The races she created, all the different tries of chimeras.. And their culture. Oh dear God it was just too good.

Now what disappoint me was the romance. With a guy like that I was expecting something hotter. And slower. Karou claimed in her head that they were enemies but she quickly forgot about that to declare her love for him only after a couple of days of knowing him, if that much. I’m not saying that I’d do better in her place. I love Akiva and would probably fall in love with him just as quickly. But maybe if I thought that we were enemies I’d try a little harder to stay away and only after I knew I could trust him, I’d start to give in to my feelings. But that’s me. Karou is a fighter but it comes to love she just gives in.

The second thing that let me down was the arrangement of the books chapters. I think it would be a lot better if the past and the present chapters had been more alternate. Because in the end when Karou and Akiva snapped the wish bone it was all about the past and nothing about the present. I think it makes sense it was written all in one setting but it was…I don’t wanna say boring because it wasn’t. But I wanted to know what was happening and I couldn’t.

Anyways the book was freaking awesome, and I loved it! I saw that some people think the second one is better. I hope they are right. Because I want to give the next book five stars.

4 stars

Leave a Reply

